On December 9, 2021 The Spring-Ford Area School District Work Session was called to order at 7:31 p.m. in the cafeteria of the Spring-Ford High School with the following in attendance:

Region I: Wendy Earle, Karen Weingarten, and Dr. Margaret D. Wright

Region II: Colleen Zasowski

Region III: Abby Deardorff, Erica Hermans, and Diane Sullivan

Presiding Officer: Laurie J. Bickert (Board Secretary)

Superintendent: Robert W. Rizzo

Assistant Superintendents: Kelly M. Murray and Tina Giambattista

Chief Financial Officer: James D. Fink

Solicitor: Mark Fitzgerald, Esq.

Student Reps.: Allison McVey and Aditi Mangala

Absent: Clinton L. Jackson and David R. Shafer,

#### REORGANIZATION MEETING

I. CALL TO ORDER AND ATTENDANCE (By Laurie Bickert, Board Secretary)
Mrs. Bickert called the meeting to order at 7:31 p.m.

#### II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### III. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING (By Mark Fitzgerald, Solicitor)

Mr. Fitzgerald explained that the Pennsylvania School Code requires that annually during the first week in December, the members of the School Board meet and reorganize.

## IV. PUBLIC TO BE HEARD ON AGENDA ITEMS ONLY

None

### V. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF TEMPORARY BOARD PRESIDENT

Mrs. Bickert opened the floor for nominations for a Temporary Board President. Dr. Wright nominated Mrs. Zasowski. There were no other nominations. Dr. Wright made a motion to close the nominations and Mrs. Earle seconded it. The Board elected Mrs. Zasowski as the Temporary Board President by a vote of 4 - 0.

Mrs. Zasowski introduced the Honorable Judge Richard H. Welsh who conducted the swearing in and oath of office for the newly elected School Board Members.

## VI. SWEARING IN OF THE NEWLY ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS ADMINISTERED BY THE HONORABLE JUDGE RICHARD H. WELCH

Judge Welsch invited **Abby Deardorff, Region III**, to come forward along with anyone she had accompanying her from her family. Judge Welsh administered the oath of office and Mrs. Deardorff took her place at the board table.

Judge Welsh invited **Karen Weingarten, Region I**, to come forward along with anyone she had accompanying her from her family. Judge Welsh administered the oath of office and Mrs. Weingarten took her place at the board table.

Judge Welsh invited **Erica Hermans**, **Region III**, to come forward along with anyone she had accompanying her from her family. Judge Welsh administered the oath of office and Mrs Hermans took her place at the board table..

# VII. SWEARING IN OF REELECTED BOARD MEMBER ADMINISTERED BY THE HONORABLE JUDGE RICHARD H. WELSH

Mrs. Zasowski and Mr. Fitzgerald noted that Mr. Jackson was not in attendance. He was provided documentation to have notarized and will be seated at the next meeting.

Region II: Clinton L. Jackson

#### VIII. NOMINATION AND ELECTION FOR THE OFFICE OF BOARD PRESIDENT

Mrs. Zasowski opened the floor for nominations of a Board President. Mrs. Earle nominated Dr. Wright. There was no other nominations. Mrs. Sullivan made a motion to close the nominations and Mrs. Hermans seconded it. Dr. Wright as the Board President by a vote of 7-0.

- IX. NOMINATION AND ELECTION FOR THE OFFICE OF BOARD VICE PRESIDENT

  Dr. Wright opened the floor for nominations of a Board Vice President. Mrs. Earle nominated Mrs. Hermans. There were no other nominations. Mrs. Zasowski made a motion to close nominations and Mrs. Deardorff seconded it. The motion passed 7-0 to close nominations. The Board elected Mrs. Hermans as the Board Vice President by a vote of 7-0.
- X. The Board President shall designate a Member and an Alternate to serve on the Montgomery County School Directors Legislative Committee. This committee is sponsored by the Montgomery County Intermediate Unit Board of Directors to provide a forum in which local directors can learn about legislative issues, which can affect education in Montgomery County. Christina Melton previously served in this capacity and Thomas DiBello previously served as the alternate.

Dr. Wright designated Mrs. Deardorff as the representative to the Montgomery County School Directors Legislative Committee and Dr. Wright as the alternative.

XI. The Board shall appoint a **PSBA Liaison** to represent the Spring-Ford Area School District. **David Shafer** presently serves as the representative

Mrs. Zasowski nominated Mr. Shafer, Mrs. Earle seconded it. There were no other nominations. The Board elected Mr. Shafer to serve as the PSBA Liaison by a vote of 7-0.

XII. The Board shall appoint a Representative to the **Spring City American Legion**. **Thomas DiBello** previously served as the representative.

Mrs. Zasowski nominated Mrs. Sullivan. Hearing no other nominations, Mrs. Hermans made a motion to close nominations, Mrs. Zasowski seconded it. Mrs. Sullivan was elected as the Representative to the Spring City American Legion by a vote of 7-0.

# XIII. WESTERN MONTGOMERY COUNTY CAREER AND TECHNICAL CENTER (WMCTC) JOINT OPERATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Members of the Joint Operating Committee for the Area Career and Technical School serve three year terms. One term expires each year to assure continuity in the operation of the joint program. The most recent representatives and the date of expiration for their term are as follows:

Thomas DiBello2021Colleen Zasowski2022Wendy Earle2023

Mrs. Zasowski nominated Mr. Jackson. Mrs. Hermans nominated Mrs. Weingarten. Hearing no other nominations, Mrs. Zasowski motioned to close nominations, Mrs. Deardorff seconded. A roll call vote was taken, Mrs. Deardorff, Mrs. Earle, Mrs. Hermans, Mrs. Sullivan, and Mrs. Weingarten voted for Mrs. Weingarten. Dr. Wright and Mrs. Zasowski voted for Mr. Jackson. Mr. Jackson was elected to serve as the WMCTC JOC for the three-year term expiring 12/2024 by a vote of 5-2.

#### XIV. MONTGOMERY COUNTY INTERMEDIATE UNIT (MCIU) BOARD MEMBER

Nominations for the MCIU Board Member to fill the vacancy with a term ending June 30, 2022, namely the seat held by **Thomas DiBello**. (No Second is needed for nominations)

Mrs. Earl nominated Dr. Wright. Mrs. Deardorff nominated Mrs. Hermans. Hearing no other nominations, Mrs. Zasowski motioned to close nominations, Mrs. Earle seconded. A roll call vote was taken, Mrs. Deardorff-Hermans, Mrs. Earle-Wright, Mrs. Hermans-Wright, Mrs. Sullivan-Wright, Mrs. Weingarten-Wright, Dr. Wright-Wright, and Mrs. Zasowski-Wright. Dr. Wright was elected to service on the MCIU Board until June 2022 by a vote of 6-1.

# XV. The Board approved the attached list of Work Session/Board Meeting Dates for 2022. (Attachment A1)

Mrs. Earle motioned to approve the Work Session/Board Meeting Dates for 2022 as presented, seconded by Mrs. Zasowski.

Motion carries 7-0.

**XVI.** The Board authorized the signature of Dr. Wright as the Board President so that he/she can sign all documentation on behalf of the Board.

Mrs. Zasowski made a motion to authorize Dr. Wright as Board President to sign all documentation on behalf of the Board, seconded by Mrs. Hermans. Motion carries 7-0.

#### XVII. BOARD COMMENT

Mrs. Earle asked about the connection with the Spring City American Legion. Mrs. Zasowski stated that there are a few other members asking. Mr. Shafer and Mr. Jackson may be able to answer some questions at the next meeting and Mrs. Sullivan can look into it with her new role on this Board. Mr. Fitzgerald stated that there is a 15 year agreement with the Legion and is going to look into the agreement to see if he can answer any of these questions.

Dr. Wright welcomed the new Board members and thanked them and also Mr. Jackson and looking forward to working with them in the next year.

## XVIII. PUBLIC TO BE HEARD

None

## XIX. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 p.m. by Mrs. Earle, seconded by Mrs. Deardorff. Motion carries 7-0.

Respectfully submitted,

Laurie J. Bickert School Board Secretary