On December 5, 2022, The Spring-Ford Area School District Reorganization Meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. in the cafeteria of the Spring-Ford High School with the following in attendance:

| Region I: | Wendy Earle and Dr. Margaret D. Wright |
|----------------------------|--|
| Region II: | David R. Shafer and Colleen Zasowski |
| Region III: | Abby Deardorff, Erica Hermans, and Dr. Jennifer Motzer |
| Presiding Officer: | Margaret D. Wright (Current President) |
| Superintendent: | Robert W. Rizzo |
| Assistant Superintendents: | Dr. Kelly M. Murray and Dr. Tina L. Giambattista |
| Chief Financial Officer: | Jim Fink (Absent) |
| Solicitor: | Mark Fitzgerald, Esq. |
| Student Reps.: | Aditi Mangal and Arhan Kaul |
| Absent: | Clinton L. Jackson |
| Called in: | Karen Weingarten |

CALL TO ORDER AND ATTENDANCE (By Dr. Margaret D. Wright, Board President) Dr. Wright called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m. Mrs. Bickert noted that Mr. Jackson is absent, Mrs. Weingarten has joined the meeting by telephone, and all other members are present. Dr. Wright noted that the Public to be Heard and Board Comment will be switched once they get to that portion of the agenda.

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

III. PURPOSE OF THE MEETING (By Mr. Mark Fitzgerald, Solicitor)

Mr. Fitzgerald provided the purpose from PA Code which requires all School Districts to hold this meeting the first week each December to reorganize. The board will elect a new President and Vice President as required each year.

IV. PUBLIC TO BE HEARD ON AGENDA ITEMS ONLY None

V. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF TEMPORARY BOARD PRESIDENT

Mrs. Hermans nominated Dr. Wright. Motion by Mrs. Earle to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Zasowski. Motion carries 8-0 for Dr. Wright to be temporary Board President.

- Nominations for the Temporary Board President. (No Second is needed for nominations)
- Motion to close the nominations. (A Second is needed to close the nominations)

If more than one person is nominated for the office of Temporary Board President, a roll call vote will be necessary to elect the Temporary Board President.

• The Secretary declares the Board Member elected as the Temporary Board President. The Temporary Board President is now seated.

VI. NOMINATION AND ELECTION FOR THE OFFICE OF BOARD PRESIDENT

Mrs. Deardorff nominated Mrs. Hermans.

Mrs. Earle motioned to close the nominations, seconded by Mrs. Deardorff. Motion carries 8-0 for Mrs. Hermans for Board President.

- Nomination for the Board President. (No Second is needed for nominations)
- Motion to close the nominations. (A Second is needed to close the nominations)

If more than one person is nominated for the office of Board President, a roll call vote will be necessary to elect the Board President.

• The Temporary Board President declares the Board Member elected as the Board President. The Board President is now seated.

VII. NOMINATION AND ELECTION FOR THE OFFICE OF BOARD VICE PRESIDENT

Mrs. Earle nominated Dr. Wright.

Mrs. Earle motioned to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Zasowski. Motion carries 8-0 for Dr. Wright for Board Vice-President.

- Nomination for the Board Vice President. (No Second is needed for nominations)
- Motion to close the nominations. (A Second is needed to close the nominations)

If more than one person is nominated for the office of Board Vice President, a roll call vote will be necessary to elect the Board Vice President.

• The Board President declares the Board Member elected as the Board Vice President. The Board Vice President is now seated.

VIII. The Board President shall designate a Member and an Alternate to serve on the Montgomery County School Directors Legislative Committee. Mrs. Hermans announced that Mrs. Deardorff will remain the Legislative Liaison and she herself will serve as the alternate.

This committee is sponsored by the Montgomery County Intermediate Unit Board of Directors to provide a forum in which local directors can learn about legislative issues, which can affect education in Montgomery County. **Mrs. Abby Deardorff** previously served in this capacity and **Dr. Margaret D. Wright** previously served as the alternate.

IX. The Board shall appoint a PSBA Liaison to represent the Spring-Ford Area School District. Mr. David Shafer presently serves as the representative.
Mrs. Earle nominated Mrs. Deardorff. Mrs Hermans nominated Mr. Shafer.
Dr. Wright made a motion to close nominations, seconded by Mrs. Zasowski. A roll call vote is needed as two have been nominated.
Mrs. Deardorff-Deardorff; Mrs. Earle-Deardorff; Dr. Motzer-Deardorff; Mr. Shafer-Deardorff; Mrs. Weingarten-Shafer; Mrs. Zasowski-Shafer; Mrs. Hermans-Deardorff; Dr. Wright-Deardorff.

Motion carries 6-2, Mrs. Deardorff for PSBA Liaison.

- X. The Board shall appoint a Representative to the Spring City American Legion. Dr. Jennifer Motzer presently serves as the representative. Dr. Wright nominated Dr. Motzer. Mrs. Deardorff nominated Mr. Shafer. Mrs. Zasowski made a motion to close nominations, Mrs. Deardorff seconded. A roll call vote is needed as two have been nominated. Mrs. Zasowski-Shafer; Mrs. Weingarten-Motzer; Mr. Shafer-Shafer; Dr. Motzer-Shafer; Mrs. Earle-Shafer; Mrs. Deardorff-Shafer; Mrs. Hermans-Shafer; Dr. Wright-Shafer. Motion carries 7-1, Mr. Shafer as Spring City American Legion Representative.
- XI. WESTERN MONTGOMERY COUNTY CAREER AND TECHNICAL CENTER (WMCTC) JOINT OPERATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Dr. Write nominated Mrs. Zasowski.

Mrs. Earle made a motion to close nominations, Mrs. Deardorff seconded. Motion for Mrs. Zasowski for a 3-year term carries 8-0.

Members of the Joint Operating Committee for the Area Career and Technical School serve three year terms. One term expires each year to assure continuity in the operation of the joint program. The most recent representatives and the date of expiration for their term are as follows:

| Mrs. Colleen Zasowski | 2022 |
|-----------------------|------|
| Mrs. Wendy Earle | 2023 |
| Mrs. Karen Weingarten | 2024 |

- Nominations for the WMCTC Joint Operating Committee Member to fill the vacancy in the three-year term which occurs this year, namely the seat held by Mrs. Colleen Zasowski. (No Second is needed for nominations)
- Motion to close the nominations. (A Second is needed to close the nominations)

If more than one person is nominated for the office of the WMCTC Joint Operating Center Member, a roll call vote will be necessary to elect the WMCTC Joint Operating Committee Member.

XII. Board approval is needed for the attached list of Work Session/Board Meeting Dates for 2023. (Attachment A1)

Motion by Mrs. Deardorff, seconded by Dr. Wright.

Mrs. Hermans spoke about the calendar changes she is presenting to include the move of the Board meeting on Presidents Day and Yom Kipper since students are not in session. There was Board discussion about possibly changing the start times for the committee and Board meetings to 6:00 and 7:00. It was noted that this could affect Executive Sessions if they need to be held. The Board will discuss further in January after reflecting. Motion carries 8-0.

XIII. Board approval is needed to authorize the signature of ______as the Board President so that he/she can sign all documentation on behalf of the Board. Motion by Mrs. Weingarten, seconded by Mrs. Deardorff to give Mrs. Hermans authorization to sign as Board President on behalf of the Board. Mr. Fitzgerald said this was a necessary housekeeping item and is necessary. Motion carries 8-0.

XIV. PUBLIC TO BE HEARD None

XV. BOARD COMMENT Mrs. Hermans thanked the Board.

XVI. ADJOURNMENT

The Board unanimously adjourned the meeting at 7:56 p.m. with a motion from Mrs. Deardorff, seconded by Mrs. Earle.

Respectfully submitted,

Laurie J. Bickert Board Secretary