SPRING-FORD AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT



DISTRICT ADMINISTRATION OFFICE

857 SOUTH LEWIS ROAD, ROYERSFORD, PA 19468

For Immediate Release Contact: Erin Crew, (610) 705-6206 Spring-Ford Area School District School and Community Engagement Consultant

December 2, 2014

Spring-Ford Board of School Directors Hold Reorganization Meeting

ROYERSFORD, **PA** – The Spring-Ford Board of School Directors held is annual reorganization meeting on Monday, December 1, 2014. The board voted to elect Mark Dehnert as the new board president while Thomas DiBello will remain vice president. "I'm happy to lead the board, to continue moving Spring-Ford forward and represent our students, staff and community," said Dehnert. This is Dehnert's first term serving as board president.

Board member Joseph Ciresi will remain the Joint Operating Committee Chairperson for the Western Montgomery Career and Technical Center, along with committee members Willard Cromley and re-appointed Dawn Heine. Thomas DiBello was re-elected to serve as Spring-Fords representative on the Montgomery County Intermediate Unite (MCIU) Board of Directors. Finally, Todd Wolf will represent Spring-Ford as a liaison for the Pennsylvania School Board Association (PSBA). Current Board Committee assignments will be assessed and any changes will be announced later in December.

After the meeting SFASD Superintendent Dr. Goodin said, "I have enjoyed working with the board over the past few years, and look forward to continuing our work to enhance the educational experience at Spring-Ford."

The Spring-Ford Board of School Directors helps determine the policies that define education from kindergarten through grade 12 for the Spring-Ford Area School District. As elected officials, school board members answer to the electorate and to the Pennsylvania Department of Education, and receive no compensation for their considerable commitment of time and energy. Spring-Ford's nine school directors assess the district's needs to develop an educational program that is consistent with Spring-Fords comprehensive plan. These members are:

Region I: Willard Cromley	Bernard Pettit	Kelly Spletzer
Region II: Dawn Heine	Clinton Jackson	Todd Wolf
Region III: Joseph Ciresi	Mark Dehnert	Thomas DiBello

The Spring-Ford Board of School Directors typically meets on the fourth Monday of the month, at 7:30 p.m. All formal action and decision-making takes place in these public meetings. The Board also meets the week before on Monday at 7:30 p.m. for a work session meeting. Meetings are held in the Spring-Ford Area High School cafeteria. Community members are encouraged to attend board meetings.